A Beautiful Truth

I would like to quote Annika’s recent blog post entitled Magick from Solstice to Solstice, where she beautifully defines a place of worship and the yearning for spiritual unity that moves us all. She writes

“It is the place where the creator of all pulses with the drum beat of every heart and each cell of the body bows in wild abandon to the great mystery. Each breath draws in the bliss of a love the mind cannot fathom. I will do anything and give my whole being to the One whose presence consumes me. Magic has guided me from solstice to solstice and I tremble with deep fear and joy at the path that lies ahead.”

Rarely is the truth spoken so eloquently. Namaste, Annika.

About William Knox

Rev. William Knox is the founder and current Chancellor of the Contemporary Pagan Alliance. Ordained in 1995 as an interfaith minister, he serves as senior priest at the Sanctuary of Light in Ravenswood,WV. and is an invested brother in the Shanddite Order of Pagan Secular Monks.
Aside | This entry was posted in Faith, God, Inspiration, Paganism, Religion, Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Beautiful Truth

  1. gypsika says:

    Thank you for sharing!

    • William Knox says:

      You are quite welcome, my dear. I write about the more academic details of Contemporary Paganism and while I am certainly satisfied with my work, I feel I often miss the mark when attempting to convey the experience of actually being Pagan. It was an honor to read your post and I look forward to your future articles with much anticipation.

  2. johnfsapp says:

    These are beautiful words and I do enjoy Annika’s belief in the magic that is in each and every one of us. However, I myself will replace fear of the path with courage and curiosity knowing that whatever I encounter along my path is placed there for my joy, betterment, and good. Be Peace

  3. Pingback: Facing the Earth « Into The Sacred Feminine

  4. marcuscrts says:

    WOW! How powerful and effective. Just amazing! Thank you for sharing!

    • gypsika says:

      I have cycled in and out of the ivory towers of academia and intellectual theology, and while I love a good interfaith or theological dialogue, I am also embracing the fathomless mystery of living a life of magick.

  5. I definitely agree with that definition. If it isn’t Drum beats it’s electronic bass beats for me. I know this principal has been true for me when I dance. I always tell people I don’t just dance for me, I dance because I feel the “pulse” or ” thrum” of life in the music pulling, drawing me out on my feet to show the world what divinely inspired dancing looks like maybe even feels. I also say that when the “Lord of the Dance” calls, I must obey – otherwise he’ll find all manner to tease and taunt me to draw me out onto the floor until I give into my desire to dance.

    In case anyone is confused, I’m just implying that this same way of thinking and feeling can be applied to many things.

    • William Knox says:

      I tend to look at it this way – beyond the boundary of the observable physical universe, our immaterial soul will forever be drawn toward the Divine voice that calls us home.

      • That’s beautiful and I completely agree. It’s a voice and calling we cannot ignore no matter how hard we may struggle against it. Best thing is to just “go with the flow” what feels natural and right. 🙂

      • gypsika says:

        There is a poem that I just can’t get out of my mind that for me captures the tension and the beauty of living this way and sometimes clashing against those who think I am insane. I think it is by Kahil Gibrar, I heard it in the musical The Portal:

        When you return from this forgotten land
        no one crosses without burning
        you will face questions
        from those who can barely dream.

        “There is no mystery” they will say
        only this aching emptiness
        which nothing can ever fill.

        But deep inside they will tremble
        hoping that your lips
        carry that sacred language
        which can redeem them.

        Their deepest fear and their greatest desire
        is that your song will shatter them open to life
        and when it flies from your astonished mouth
        they will rise up and take flight
        on its outstretched wings.

Leave a Reply

