God and the children of Adam

I have been troubled lately by the marked increase of violence in the world, particularly in the Middle East and Asia. I have never understood how religious political leaders of any faith can justify wholesale torture and homicide in the name of God. I have many Muslim and Jewish friends here in America and they are universally a people of strong faith and ancient traditions. How then can groups like the Taliban, Hamas and even the political leadership in Israel justify the daily atrocities their people commit, all through the erroneous belief that God approves of such actions.

As is my custom I prayed in the early afternoon and sought guidance from our God on this issue. In a burst of light I found myself floating high in the air above the city of Jerusalem. The voice of God spoke to me then, sounding like thousands speaking in concert but unified in a single being. I watched as scenes of unimaginable horror flashed before my eyes and God said

“Behold, My wayward children, the misguided descendants of Adam. They ignore My will and corrupt the words of My Holy prophets to suit their own prideful desire. Take heed, My beloved child, for henceforth whosoever commands their brothers and sisters to be struck down in My name shall be denied all earthly Grace. Those who spill the blood of the innocent shall be bereft of comfort for the plague of evil shall hunt them without mercy. Mine ears shall be closed to their prayers and their suffering will be magnified a thousand fold.”

Murdered children lay awash in blood, their bodies violated by some explosive force and abandoned in the middle of the ravaged streets. Men screaming at bound women as they repeatedly bludgeoned them with large rocks until they fell to the dirt, their skulls crushed. Soldiers under a sovereign flag firing a hail of bullets into the backs of peaceful men and women running for their lives. Image after image assailed my senses and I wept with despair until finally I cried out for God’s mercy; I couldn’t bear to see anymore.

Suddenly I found myself peacefully back over the city again and this time God was with me as a brilliant light to my left.  Dark clouds began to move swiftly, covering the sky and blotting out the sun until the region was blanketed in rain and thunder and God spoke again, saying “See what they will do to each other without My guidance. Teach them”.

A massive explosion shook the ground for miles as a flash of light from somewhere in the city blinded me momentarily. When my vision cleared I was appalled at the distinct mushroom shaped cloud enveloping the holy land. Jerusalem lay destroyed, massive piles of rubble and flaming carnage where once graceful architecture beguiled the eye.

Another flash of light took me and I found myself back in my house stunned by what I had seen, with the echo of God’s voice still ringing in my ears. “Teach them”.  I only hope that someone will listen.

About William Knox

Rev. William Knox is the founder and current Chancellor of the Contemporary Pagan Alliance. Ordained in 1995 as an interfaith minister, he serves as senior priest at the Sanctuary of Light in Ravenswood,WV. and is an invested brother in the Shanddite Order of Pagan Secular Monks.
This entry was posted in God, Islam, Israel, Peace, Religion, War and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to God and the children of Adam

  1. chicagoja says:

    Such atrocities are instigated by people with a political agenda. The foot soldiers (true believers) are the useful idiots who become the cannon fodder. The are indoctrinated to believe that they are fighting in the name of God, as they have to be provided with a compelling reason to get them to sacrifice their life. After all, you never see religious leaders in the ranks of the suicide bombers.

    • William says:

      I certainly agree that many religious leaders have abused their influence to further their own self-interests but I also believe this issue goes deeper than greed or the lust for power. When any society becomes blinded by unmitigated hatred the atrocities they become capable of are truly horrifying.

  2. Wow….excellent display of testimony. Consequences should never be a motivator to be humane. A group doesn’t need to be control, it needs to be organized. One accord is the ideal idea that we work for. God will, will be spread through the power of Love. Those who take pride in listen to a heartbeat losing its rhythm never lived a day of their lives. People continue to believe power is having control but the true strength is being able to let go and live in pieces connection to make a whole. Only then will we be prepared for heaven!!!! AB

  3. davidtenn says:

    I concur with this testimony dear brother, for i have seen similar in the Korean peninsula. Love David

    • William says:

      The situation in Korea frightens me as well but I think I will refrain from asking God to provide revelation vis-à-vis that debacle. I am still processing this last revelation on an emotional level… I find such visions to be extraordinarily disturbing, being powerless to change anything. So much pain, such senseless destruction and for what purpose? Thank you for responding, my brother. It is comforting to know that others see the terrible danger we face as a people. Peace be with you.

  4. This is a powerful testimony to how each of us individually can do something from sharing to living a life of peace that teaches others by our actions.

    • William says:

      I have always believed that everyone has the ability to affect positive change, both in their personal lives and in the lives of others they influence. I only wish I could understand why I have seen such far reaching revelations. I really have no idea how to prevent such tragedy as my blog does not reach a large audience. I do not know how I can achieve what is expected of me… I often feel like one small voice crying out in the wilderness with no one to hear; your validation is so very important to me. Thank you.

  5. Raunak says:

    Just before reading this post, I was watching CNN’s coverage on Mali and the complete dominance that Al Qaeda has established in the northern part of the country, an are as large as France. Its a reminder of the merciless Taliban regime in Afghanistan. There’s just too much violence in the world. Too much!

    • William says:

      I agree with you, naturally. I only hope that someday a diplomatic solution will be successful in ending such horrendous activity – those who promote military aggression do not seem to grasp the concept that violence only begets more violence. I believe in the necessity of self defense but not all out war.

  6. Pingback: I Have Seen God

  7. io kirkwood says:

    My mother has visions like this. I think in my youth, her recount of these visions encouraged me to seek a way to live as harmoniously as I could. I studied many faiths, religious texts, and practiced many techniques. Universally, the religions have a form of attentiveness that the practitioner must develop. Universally, the religions address the insignificance that we feel as humans in the face of events we cannot control. Universally, the religions ask us to practice compassion for one another based on the attentiveness and the understanding that we all feel small.

    Those who harm others are dying inside, whether they realize it or not, and to stave off their fears of death and insignificance, they exercise a vicious consciousness of “Power Over.” Everyone does it to some degree. Some are neurotic control freaks who diminish the people in their lives while others are complete psychotics who maim, torture and murder.

    I think a call to understand Power Over vs. Empowerment, to choose Empowerment and the “Win-Win” outcome, may have an impact. So many of us are lonely, hurting, and feel helpless. Life is brutal mentally, emotionally, and/or physically depending on your circumstances. Spirituality is one of the ways we make sense of the world and find peace.

    If someone addresses the spiritual ramifications of “Power Over” then others may understand the futility of trying to control outside events. “As Above, So Below” right? How about, “As Within, So Without?” An adult’s environment is often a reflection of his/her inner landscape. When you relinquish “Power Over” an amazing shift occurs in which others do not have power over you. Of course, it’s hard to describe to someone who hasn’t experienced it, but it is a major magickal/psychological undertaking. If someone could find a way…

    • William says:

      I agree that facilitating direct individual spiritual experience rather than espousing reliance on a theocratic hierarchy is by far the preferred course. Additionally, relying upon one’s will to promote positive change within one’s personal reality is an integral component of contemporary Pagan practice. In my experience, many current Pagan authors lose sight of this truth when they choose to focus primarily on magickal theory and ephemeral data while ignoring the deep and infinitely complex philosophy which supplies the foundation of our faith.

Leave a Reply

