On independence, politics and peace

I do not usually post this frequently but it has been suggested in a comment to my previous post, tongue in cheek I believe, that perhaps I stand behind Gary Johnson’s presidential bid. Thank you whittygirl, you gave me a good belly laugh, but I do not support Mr. Johnson’s candidacy. While I share certain views similar to those of modern libertarianism, I do not actively support the US Libertarian party.  I agree with placing a great deal of emphasis on the requirement of personal liberty in a free society and I am certainly a proponent of absolute equality without reservation. That said, I feel that far too many people within the Party itself advocate policies that would essentially support the establishment of an anarchic state which, in my opinion, would be detrimental to our society as a whole.

As to which party I support, I suppose my answer must be unequivocal – none of them. While I am affiliated with the Democratic Party for voting purposes (in some states you cannot vote in a primary contest as independent) I do not vote along party lines, choosing instead to vote for the individual I feel best suited to the office he or she is running for. I will cheerfully admit to being liberal but I have fully supported Republican candidates many times in the past.

I should mention that I tend to be fairly critical of party politics in the first place. Frankly, I do not see party affiliation as conducive to effective cooperation in legislative practices. Should an individual step forward and enter the national political fray on a well-funded independent platform with policies in agreement with my own views I would of course be ecstatic. It saddens me that such an event is highly unlikely to occur as independents rarely receive serious consideration in today’s political climate.

In the case of the upcoming election, I will be placing my vote for the incumbent and fully endorse his candidacy, although I will freely admit I have been frequently disappointed with his lack of forceful leadership over the last four years. This does not mean, however, that you should assume I blame Mr. Obama personally for the problems we currently face in this country, both domestic and foreign. Nor do I blame Mr. Bush although if I am to be completely honest, I do find some of his beliefs to be repugnant. To claim that paganism is not a religion is supremely ignorant and in my view, hateful in the extreme. Shame on you, Mr. Bush.

Economically the entire world is in trouble and whether we like it or not America is a part of the global community. The pre-world war isolationist days are long gone, never to return. While I think it important to note that I in no way support a single world government, I do believe we as a species must individually stand up and with one unified voice speak out against those who would advocate war, oppression in the name of progress and contention disguised in the mantle of peace.

I actively promote the establishment of a worldwide treaty, agreed upon by all nations, that stipulates the following – any state that chooses to violate the sovereignty of another state through an act of violence will receive full and complete sanction from the nations of the world. We will not purchase from, sell to, trade with or otherwise provide aid of any kind to the nation committing such an egregious act until such time as said nation chooses to return to a peaceful and cooperative stance with the entire global community. Furthermore, any nation found to be harboring terrorist groups committing violent acts against other nations will also be subject to full sanction.

We can longer afford to murder each other with abandon and hope to attain a better world for ourselves in the process. While it is true that violence has settled more disagreements than any other method in the history of our planet, such thinking can longer be allowed to dominate our global consciousness. The only viable method of ensuring our survival as a species is the total cessation of war and the reliance on diplomatic negotiation as the sole means of conflict resolution. I foresee that this must be done before the threat of nuclear attack from a rogue nation again places the countries of the world in a defensive position leading down the inevitable path to a third world war. No one, from any reasonable viewpoint, could logically advocate for such a heinous development.

To my followers who prefer to read my religious writing I apologize for my digression as I rarely become so deeply involved in a political discussion. I will end this article by returning to the subject to which I am perhaps best suited and share the following prediction as revealed to me:

The nations of the world will unite in single purpose, resting within the comfort of God’s great Peace. Should they fail to do so, willfully ignoring the commandments of God, they will surely suffer through fiery death and destruction even unto the ending of all life on Earth.

About William Knox

Rev. William Knox is the founder and current Chancellor of the Contemporary Pagan Alliance. Ordained in 1995 as an interfaith minister, he serves as senior priest at the Sanctuary of Light in Ravenswood,WV. and is an invested brother in the Shanddite Order of Pagan Secular Monks.
This entry was posted in Equality, God, Inspiration, Peace, Philosophy, Politics, War and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

