Meeting God

I felt a compelling desire to lay prostrate as a great rushing feeling took my awareness through time and space, pulling my consciousness forward and for a moment I was not cognizant of anything other than the emptiness of the void. And waves of brilliant light appeared from everywhere and nowhere, surrounding my thoughts as my sense of self returned suddenly. I felt the moment when God’s gaze penetrated me, surrounded me and the complete weight of that Divine perception became fully focused on my being. I felt fear then, abject fear and utter despair, as I realized I lay naked before God and that all my transgressions had been revealed. Time stopped at that moment, for God spoke to my soul and shared the concept of divine peace, true harmony with the universe, God’s harmony, the embodiment of peace at its deepest meaning and the Grace within that peace toward which every being must one day journey. I was absolutely overcome with the overwhelming sense of Joy in that unity.

I understand now, I can see that our mortal mistakes are tools for learning and growth but remain inconsequential before God, Most Perfect.  Forgiveness must indeed be divine, for in that one moment, separate and outside of time, God greeted me as a loving teacher and I knew myself to be an eternal and beloved companion, despite my self-perceived iniquities. One thing above all else is now clear to me – the often conflicting beliefs of the various world religions are not really important to God. Believe what you will, learn from whatever path gives you hope and will help you to evolve as a conscious being… the path itself is a construct of humanity, ever changing and incomplete.  In the end only one truth remains certain and undeniable.  God Is.  Everything else is simply icing on the cake.

About William Knox

Rev. William Knox is the founder and current Chancellor of the Contemporary Pagan Alliance. Ordained in 1995 as an interfaith minister, he serves as senior priest at the Sanctuary of Light in Ravenswood,WV. and is an invested brother in the Shanddite Order of Pagan Secular Monks.
This entry was posted in God, Religion, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Meeting God

  1. I’m very happy for you……not an easy task to put these feelings into words…..but this task will help you integrate and get even clearer about your experience. I look forward to reading more.

    Congratulations.

  2. Gospel Restoration says:

    Thank you for commenting on my blog. I always find it encouraging to hear from others who are seeking God.

  3. Right on, William! Looking forward to your further explorations in God Consciousness ~

  4. Beautifully written, William, so concise and so pure. Thanks!

  5. Lyn Leahz says:

    I believe you..because God has spoken to me through the Holy Spirit..and I knew what was ssaid could not have come from my own mind! God bless you! Thanks for following me btw.

  6. psipsinasays says:

    This was wonderful. It’s amazing to hear about your brave and fearless immersion in GodConsciousness and your higher self. This is what I know to be true and very real, but I struggle every day to let go, surrender and to fall back into the light. Still trying to open my heart and will continue to read what you’re up to and gleam some inspiration- and strength.
    Namaste.
    Px

    • William says:

      Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is my hope that through frank discussion of transcendental thought coupled with our ever expanding knowledge of quantum mechanics and the subtler, more beautiful interactions of the universe that take place in even the smallest moment of measurable time and beyond, we may, as a species, finally come to terms with the truth that we are conscious beings. Our science cannot yet explain or truly define the higher consciousness and many prefer to believe that our perception of consciousness is simply an illusion and death is defined as the flipping of a biological switch.

      I have studied both the physical causes and processes by which death occurs and the various beliefs of every major religion to a certain degree and I have always found pieces of what I know to be true, for me personally at least, about the very nature of God woven into their scripture or their religious practices in general or even within scientific theory for I find the whole of Creation to be a thing of great beauty and I am honored to be a part of it. Once we recognize through scientific proof that there IS a unified theory of everything, we simply haven’t achieved the necessary evolution of consciousness as a species to fully accept our basic unity at this integral quantum level. If we see the world through God’s eyes, however we perceive our concept of God to look or even think, we begin to take responsibility for our actions as we accept we are an integral part of the universe ourselves. Indeed, at the quantum level, as I understand the science, we are all connected in one way or another in an unbroken chain all the way back to the initial particles of first creation some 14 billion years ago.

      I find our very existence to be awe inspiring, for imagine what we can achieve as a species if we choose to accept our different visions of God and work together to form a more understanding society that desires to work in harmony toward increasing the breadth of human knowledge. Whether one chooses to transcend while in this lifetime or at the moment of one’s death is truly not important; rather the understanding of our transcendence as an unavoidable reality, of the acceptance of the existence of consciousness itself as an immutable fact is to open ourselves up to the limitless possibilities inherent in a merger of scientific knowledge and spiritual understanding. I believe we truly are one with the whole of existence, whether we choose to admit the fact or not.

      I only hope I can continue to contribute to the scientific discussion of consciousness in some meaningful way. With a significant percentage of our population self-identifying as spiritual but not religious (our understanding of how the universe works no longer meshes completely with our longest held religious beliefs and no longer seems synonymous with what we know empirically to be true). Therefore, even though there is certain disconnect at this point, I believe that philosophical disassociation to be temporary as we are clearly primed and ready to accept the next logical step in our understanding of the universe and our place in it.

      Namaste, my friend.

Leave a Reply

